Universities and Institutes of Australia

Australia is one of the best places in the world to live while you learn. The standard of living is amongst the highest in the world, yet costs remain competitive. On your breaks from study, you will have a wide choice of activities to enrich your experience – from cultural festivals, concerts and museums, to major sporting events. Australian education has a strong international reputation for excellence. Whether you study at a university, school, vocational or English language institute, you will receive a quality education that will form a strong foundation for your future success.

Australian National University
The Australian National University, commonly abbreviated to ANU, is a public teaching and research university located in Canberra, Australia, the federal capital city. The University was established by an act of the Parliament of Australia on 1 August 1946, with the legislated purpose of conducting and promoting research in Australia. The University is consistently ranked as the best university in Australia by many worldwide universities ranking systems, including the University and the annual Times Higher Education Supplement rankings. Its notable staff and alumni include five Nobel laureates. The University is governed by a 15-member council. ANU is a member of several university alliances and cooperative networks, including the Group of Eight (Australian universities), the Association of Pacific Rim Universities, and the Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy and the International Alliance of Research Universities.

The University of Sydney
The University of Sydney (informally Sydney University, USyd or simply Sydney) is the oldest university in Australia. It was established in Sydney in 1850. It is a member of Australia’s “Group of Eight” universities that are highly ranked in terms of their research performance. In 2009, the University had 47,775 students making it the second largest (behind Monash University) in Australia. Centered on the Oxbridge-inspired grounds of the University’s Main Campus on the south-western outskirts of Sydney’s CBD, the University has a number of campuses as a result of mergers over the past 20 years. The University of Sydney is a member of the Group of Eight, Academic Consortium 21, the Association of Pacific Rim Universities (APRU) and the Worldwide Universities Network.

The University of Melbourne
The University of Melbourne (informally Melbourne Uni, Unimelb or just Melbourne) is a public university located in Melbourne, Victoria. Founded in 1853, it is the second oldest university in Australia, and the oldest in Victoria. The main campus is located in Parkville, an inner suburb just north of the Melbourne CBD; however it has several other campuses located across Victoria. It is a member of Australia’s “Group of Eight” lobby group, the Universities 21 and Association of Pacific Rim Universities networks, and is colloquially known as a sandstone university. It has one of the largest financial endowments of any Australian university, standing at $1.105bn as of 2008. Melbourne is ranked among the top universities in Australia and the world.
Among Australian universities, it claims a leading position in business, education, engineering, law and medicine. Melbourne University is the second largest research organisation in Australia after the CSIRO. In 2008, it spent $653.7m on research, and has consistently ranked first or second on the major national research indicators which are used by the Australian Government to allocate public funds for research and training infrastructure.

The University of Queensland
The University of Queensland, also known as UQ, is a public university located in Brisbane, Australia. Founded in 1909, it is the oldest university in Queensland and the fifth in the nation. The main campus is located in St Lucia, southwest of the Brisbane CBD. UQ is a member of the Australia’s Group of Eight lobby group, and the Universities 21, an international network of research-intensive universities, and is colloquially known as a “sandstone university”. UQ is ranked among the top universities, both in Australia and the world. In 2009, the Australian Cancer Research Foundation reported that UQ have taken the lead in numerous areas of cancer research, having awarded almost $10 million in grants over a three year period.
There are numerous collaborative research centres associated with the university. The Queensland Bioscience Precinct on the St Lucia campus houses scientists from the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO), the Institute for Molecular Bioscience, the Australian Institute for Bioengineering and Nanotechnology and the Queensland Brain Institute to form one of the largest biomedical research clusters in Australia.

The University of New South Wales
The University of New South Wales, also known as UNSW or colloquially as New South is a university situated in Kensington, a suburb in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. The University was founded in 1949. Today it is recognized as one of Australia’s leading teaching and research institutions, and has developed a strong reputation in a number of fields, including renewable/alternative energy, quantum computing and nanotechnology, taxation reform, information and communication technology, digital media, electrical engineering, chemical engineering, bio-medical engineering, sustainable development, HIV/AIDS research, and social justice and social policy research.

The University is a member of Australia’s “Group of Eight” lobby group, and is also a founding member of Universities 21, an international network of leading research-intensive universities.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.